Open 10 time trial

National champion Chris Fennell (The Independent Pedaller-No Pinz) added another win at the Medway Velo Open 10 to his palmares.

After a couple of years at different courses due to covid, the race returned to its traditional home on the Isle of Grain course, with riders having to deal with a deceptive headwind on the return leg to the finish.

Fennell came home in 19-28, a full one minute ahead of his brother Nic, who claimed second place. Army Cycling’s Stefan Gloyn was the only other rider in the 20 minute bracket, recording a time of 20-55.

Medway Velo Michael Stanley continued his strong season with a time of 24:52, just ahead of Wigmore rider Jamie Harris.

First woman overall was Debbie Percival (Kent Velo Girls/boys) who rode her time trial bike in 27:16.

Women’s podium, Martina Ben-Shaul (3rd), Debbie Percival (1st), Sally Smith (2nd)

With the increasing popularity of riding traditional road bikes in time trials, a number riders opted for the road bike event, with Huseyin Vardal of the Gemini winning the category in 22:32 ahead of Paul Turton (23:55) and Cameron Carthew of the Wigmore in 25:07.

Medway Velo’s Sally Smith was first placed woman in the women’s road bike event, ahead of Martina Ben-Shaul and Caroline Wyke. Smith and Ben-Shaul also being placed second and third woman overall.

Velo’s Sally Smith took the women’s road bike category.

Organiser Matt Nunn thanked all riders for taking part remarking “the first of our open time trials bought out the fine weather and a number of riders recorded personal best times, coping well with the windy conditions you usually find on the Isle of Grain. I would thank all of the riders who entered as well as the club members who gave up their time to marshal, and assist at the event.”

The club’s second open event is a 25 mile event on the Hamstreet by pass next Sunday, 22nd May.

1Christopher FennellThe Independent Pedaler – Nopinz19:28Male
2Nicholas FennellThanet RC20:28Male
3Stefan GloynArmy Cycling20:55Male
4Martin KoberAbellio – SFA Racing Team21:09Male
5Alex PearsonWoolwich CC21:26Male
6Paul BurrowsThanet RC21:40Male
7Graeme GarnerEssex Roads CC21:52Male
7Matthew SaundersTeam Vision Racing – Silverhook21:52Male
9Mark HillVeloRefined Rule 521:56Male
10Alexander LuisiBath Cycling Club22:03Male
11Mark DoxeyAbellio – SFA Racing Team22:21Male
12Paul Turner34 Nomads CC22:28Male
13Huseyin VardalGemini BC22:32RBMale
13Pete ElmsVC Deal22:32Male
15Simon HendersonThanet RC22:55Male
16Paul SmithVeloRefined Rule 522:59Male
17Liam McLaughlinArctic Aircon RT23:04Male
18Mark NewtonElite Cycling23:20Male
19Paul TurtonTeam Vision Racing – Silverhook23:55RBMale
20Jamie HarrisWigmore CC24:26Male
21Michael StanleyMedway Velo Club24:52Male
22Cameron CarthewWigmore CC25:07RBMale
23Jeremy ParkerGravesend CC25:17Male
24Daniel HomerLondon Phoenix CC25:30Male
24David HodsmanDulwich Paragon CC25:30Male
26Sam DayCS Grupetto26:10RBMale
27Andrew GrantChelmer CC26:16Male
28David SmithVC de Londres26:36Male
29Debbie PercivalKent Velo Girls/Boys27:16Female
30Anthony WhaleHarlow CC27:23Male
31Sally SmithMedway Velo Club27:31RBFemale
32Mike PerryThanet RC30:11Male
33Martina Ben-ShaulDulwich Paragon CC31:55RBFemale
34Caroline WykeCC Sudbury33:14RBFemale

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s